BlackOwned

Data Center Watch Report · ZIP 46218

Indianapolis

Marion

ApprovedZIP 67.9% Blackpop 28,560

Approved (rezoning granted; construction pending; under legal challenge)

Researched: 2026-08-02 · Lead source: Brockovich AI Data Center community map (1 resident report, 2026-06-09) · ZIP demographics: 67.9% Black, pop 28,560 (Census ACS 2023) · County: Marion (near-northeast / Martindale-Brightwood) Status: Approved (rezoning granted; construction pending; under legal challenge)

This report is research, not legal, financial, real-estate, or investment advice.

0. Snapshot

California-based developer Metrobloks won approval to build a data center in the historically Black Martindale-Brightwood neighborhood on the near-northeast side of Indianapolis, on a ~14-acre former drive-in-theater/vacant lot near 25th Street & Sherman Drive (2505 N. Sherman Ave.). The Metropolitan Development Commission approved it 6–2 on April 1, 2026; the City-County Council granted the rezoning on May 4, 2026. Residents fought it for months, arguing it dumps more industrial burden on a neighborhood already carrying lead-contaminated soil and decades of environmental harm. The Hoosier Environmental Council and residents took the approval to Marion County court in May 2026 citing environmental racism. A councilmanic moratorium on new data centers (through Dec. 31, 2027) advanced in July 2026 but does not retroactively stop this already-approved project.

1. The Facility & Where It Sits

  • Developer: Metrobloks (California-based).
  • Location: ~14 acres at ~2505 N. Sherman Ave., near 25th & Sherman Drive, Martindale-Brightwood, ZIP 46218 — a historically Black neighborhood. Prior use: vacant lot / former drive-in theater.
  • Size/cost: Reported ~$500 million project. Exact square footage and MW were not disclosed in local coverage (sq ft / MW not found as of 2026-08-02). Cooling: closed-loop with water recirculation.
  • Status: Approved (rezoned); construction pending, under legal challenge.
  • The border: The site sits inside a majority-Black ZIP (67.9%) directly in a residential/industrial-legacy neighborhood — residents warn it repeats a history of siting hazards in Black Indianapolis. This is the environmental-justice pattern the project documents.

2. Public Hearings & Notices

  • Jan 2026: Community meetings; residents warned the project "could repeat history" (WBOI/WFYI).
  • April 1, 2026: Metropolitan Development Commission (MDC) approved 6–2.
  • May 4, 2026: City-County Council approved the rezoning; a non-binding resolution urging a temporary stay on high-impact data centers also passed. District councilor Ron Gibson supported the project; councilor Jesse Brown tried to pull it from the agenda but lacked authority.
  • May 12, 2026: Hoosier Environmental Council + residents filed a Marion County court challenge citing environmental racism.
  • July 13, 2026: Council's Metropolitan & Economic Development Committee voted 10–3 to recommend a temporary moratorium on new data centers through Dec. 31, 2027not retroactive; Martindale-Brightwood and a Decatur Township project proceed.

3. Power

  • Serving utility: AES Indiana (electricity via contract, described as not drawing on the residential grid the same way).
  • State oversight: The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC) oversees utility large-load/rate matters; check IURC dockets for any special large-load contract or rate rider. Specific IURC docket not found as of 2026-08-02.
  • On-site generation / substation details: Not found as of 2026-08-02.

4. Water & Drought

  • Metrobloks describes a closed-loop cooling system with water recirculation. Reported use: ~19,000 gallons to fill the first building's loop and ~47,500 gallons for a second — one-time fill figures, not daily draw; ongoing daily use not disclosed. Water utility: Citizens Energy Group (Indianapolis) — confirm directly. Ongoing water draw not found as of 2026-08-02.
  • Drought: Check Marion County weekly at https://droughtmonitor.unl.edu and https://www.drought.gov/states/indiana.

5. Population & Who Lives Here

  • ZIP 46218: 67.9% Black, population 28,560 (Census ACS 2023) — one of the most heavily Black ZIPs in Marion County.
  • Martindale-Brightwood is a documented environmental-justice neighborhood with lead-contaminated soil and a long industrial-pollution legacy; residents' central objection is cumulative burden.

6. Money — Abatements, Incentives, Jobs

  • Tax abatement / incentive terms, and permanent job counts: Not found as of 2026-08-02 — request from the Indianapolis Department of Metropolitan Development and the councilor's office. Data centers typically create few permanent jobs relative to their footprint; verify any jobs claim.

7. Community Reaction & News Coverage

  • WFYI, Mirror Indy, WBOI (NPR), Indianapolis Recorder, Indianapolis Star, Capital B — sustained local coverage; residents organized against the project for months.
  • Legal: Hoosier Environmental Council + residents' Marion County court challenge (environmental racism).
  • Safety note: NBC News reported that Councilor Ron Gibson said shots were fired at his house and a "no data centers" note was left on his doorstep — an indication of how heated this fight became. (Reported allegation; investigation status not confirmed here.)

8. Find Out For Yourself

Indianapolis City-County Council

  • Councilor Ron Gibson (District 8, includes the site): City-County Building, 200 E. Washington St., Ste. T-441, Indianapolis, IN 46204 · (317) 327-4242 · ron.gibson2@indy.gov
  • Council office / clerk: 200 E. Washington St. · https://www.indy.gov (City-County Council)
  • Councilor Jesse Brown — opposed; another route for constituent questions.

City agencies

  • Dept. of Metropolitan Development / Metropolitan Development Commission (zoning, cases, incentives).
  • AES Indiana public affairs (power).
  • Citizens Energy Group (water/wastewater).
  • IURC (utility rates/large-load): https://www.in.gov/iurc/

Advocacy

  • Hoosier Environmental Council (plaintiff in the court challenge).

Questions to ask:

  1. What is the actual MW and daily water draw, and who verifies it?
  2. What tax abatement/incentives did Metrobloks receive, and for how many years?
  3. How many permanent jobs, at what pay?
  4. What cumulative-impact / lead-soil study was done given the neighborhood's contamination history?
  5. What noise, light, and backup-generator (diesel) limits are in the approval conditions?
  6. What is the status of the Hoosier Environmental Council lawsuit and can residents join or file comments?

9. If You're Thinking About Moving Here

Martindale-Brightwood is a majority-Black neighborhood already carrying documented contamination, and it just got an approved data center over strong local objection, now in litigation. Realistic considerations: construction disruption, possible noise/generator emissions, and the unresolved cumulative-burden questions residents raised. On the other hand, the citywide fight produced a (non-retroactive) moratorium and active legal and political scrutiny. Unresolved as of 2026-08-02: the project's MW and water draw, incentives, permanent jobs, and the outcome of the court challenge. Verify current status with the councilor's office and the court before deciding.

10. Sources

Lead source: resident reports on the Brockovich AI Data Center community map, then independently verified against public records. Research, not legal, financial, real-estate, or investment advice. Some resident-reported pins remain uncorroborated and are labeled as such above.